DuWop Cheek Venom


As I’m sure I’ve said many, many times, I DON’T WEAR LIP PLUMPERS. I just don’t. However, I’ve always been intrigued by DuWop’s products because of the insane hype over their Lip Venom. I have looked around to try and find something I could buy (I know, I’m strange like that :) ). Eventually, I happened upon this little cream blush…
DuWop says that this is ‘A hydrating and conditioning blush infused with a special formula that creates a natural-looking flush.’ Essentially. what it’s meant to do is to do pretty much the same thing as the wrld famous Lip Venom- to stimulate circulation and create a very natural blush! At $24, it’s ever so slightly expensive for 0.35 oz, but you only need the tiniest bit, so small that it’s actually hard to explain exactly how much (I’ll take a photo…), so I expect it’ll last a really long time. It’s available at both Sephora and the DuWop website.

I found that it feels really, really nice on, and it does tingle slightly! It isn’t at all painful, mostly it just sort of feels like it smells, if you get what I mean… By the way, it smells exactly like cinnamon gum or maybe Red Hots!! It’s a really nice, spicy-sweet smell. If, however, you don’t like strongly scented makeup, or you don’t like the smell of cinnamon, this might not be for you. I think that the cinnamon smell must have something to do with whatever it’s infused with.

I got the color Diamondback, which is described as a ‘peachy pink’ on Sephora, and as a ‘hot coral pink ‘on the DuWop website. I’d actually say that it’s somewhere in between the two! A coral peachy pink, maybe… :) There’s another color, called Sidewinder, which is described as a ‘soft neutral rose’ at Sephora and a ‘gorgeous nude flush’ at the DuWop website. Sometimes softer colors don’t really show up on me, so I went for the brighter one.

I love the way this feels. The texture is quite solid, but very creamy. However, I HATE THE PACKAGING. I hate it. It looks so beautiful, sitting in that pretty little frosted plastic pot with that blue top. But oh my god is it hard to get out. I imagine that if you had long fingernails AT ALL (I don’t) it would be pretty close to impossible to get any product out of this without scraping it with your nails. And after you’ve used quite a bit it looks like it’ll be really hard because the neck is thinner than the rest…

Altogether I’m really frustrated because this gives you such ¬†pretty, natural looking flush but it also is almost impossible to use. People say to use a stiff brush but that would be pretty tricky too once you’ve used quite a lot. Overall, I’d say that if you don’t mind inconvenient packaging you should be really quite fine, becuase this is a lovely product, but if it’s a big thing for you, that could be a dealbreaker.

On another note, does anyone living near New York or Connecticut want one of the kittens? We need to find homes for them!

xxIvy

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pinch
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:17:30

    Oh, I wish I lived in New York! Guess Norway is too far to send a poor little kitten. The blush looks real pretty, but it’s sad to pay so much for so little and then get bad packaging :)

    Reply

    • aquamarine565
      Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:59:25

      awww thats too bad :) but norway must be BEAUTIFUL!! ive always wanted to go! and the blush is lovely, but sadly i wouldnt suggest buying it simply because of the packaging, which is really too bad…

      Reply

  2. Kristen
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 23:09:58

    I can attest that this smells really REALLY nice on you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

