Too Faced Retractable Kabuki Brush


Hi!! I don’t have time to write a really long post today,  as I have riding amongst other things, so here we go:

I have been looking for a good kabuki brush for, like, FOREVER. For a while i fell in love with the Body Shop one, just to realize that the one I really liked turned out not to be for sale, it was just used as a tester. Then I found the NARS one, and realized that there was no way I could spend $75 on a brush.THEN I saw the theBalm kabuki and decided to buy it, until I saw how small it was. But then, I found this.

Too Faced Kabuki

To start with, Too Faced says that ‘This one-stop shop of a brush is a serious multi-tasker! Our perfectly portable retractable Kabuki Brush is the ideal tool to apply bronzers blushers powders and shimmers flawlessly. Our world-famous Teddy Bear Hair bristles grab and blend color without any of the cruelty or hygiene problems associated with animal-hair brushes.’ Well, I can’t tell whether or not the bristles are made of this Teddy Bear Hair, or cruelty-free, but I would assume that they are if this is what the website says.

This brush is available at Too Faced and Sephora, and it retails for $30. That sounds quite expensive, but if you consider that this can be used for bronzers, highlighters, blushes, shimmers and powders- there are probably a LOT more uses, but I just can’t think of any at the moment! Plus, if you think about how many brushes you are saving yourself from buying (actually, I’ll probably buy them anyway but thats just me :) ), as well as its quality, this is IMMENSELY  good value.

Without Flash

Okay, anyone who has been reading my blog for a while will almost certainly know that I am packaging obsessed. It’s almost a deal breaker for me as well, so you’ll be pleased to know that this meets my very highest standards. IT’S PINK. Very pink. And shiny. And it has engraved pale pink flowers all over it. Inside the metal cap is the brush,  and it’s retractable, so when you’re finished using it, you can take it with you without having to worry about the bristles getting dirty or bent. That is a HUGE plus for me, as I am remarkably lazy and frankly, can’t be bothered to put my brushes away. I narrowly missed destroying my Bobbi Brown face brush, which was a gift from someone. If I had, I can’t actually afford to buy another… So this brush will last almost forever.

These bristles are the silkiest I’ve ever felt- theyr’e almost as soft as the kittens!! They’re the perfect height, and the perfect width. They are great for all of the uses mentioned! This brush has become my HG kabuki, and I absolutely love it!!

xxIvy

ps- the photo quality isnt great- this is really hard to photograph!!

With flash

The fight ensues...

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristen
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 22:01:47

    The REAL question is whether or not the Teddy Bears whose hair they use are free-range, organic Teddy Bears. I do love that brush! Maybe I can borrow it sometime… :)

    Reply

    • aquamarine565
      Jul 26, 2010 @ 22:04:16

      they mustnt be battery teddy bears!!! that would be teddy crelty!!! and of course you can borrow it!!!

      Reply

  2. Pinch
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 17:46:53

    Well, if it’s made with teddy bear hair, it’s not cruelty free, that’s for sure! I love the look of it, it’s so pretty and nice :)

    I have a kabuki from the body shop and only ever use it for my mineral foundation. But that’s just because I have so many others to use for all that other stuff :)

    Have fun riding!

    Reply

    • Ivy
      Jul 27, 2010 @ 19:19:02

      i agree, pinch, it is really pretty; definitely a plus for me!!i did like the body shop brush, but unfortunately i had too high hopes for it, having first used a different one (it turned out to be an old model or something)… and i had a great time riding, thanks!!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Balmbini Part Three: theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer Review « A Brush With Beauty

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

